Explore. Learn. Enjoy.    
 

   LS2 Catalog | Classic Catalog  | My Account

 

Reference Databases

A to Z Databases

Includes 30 million business profiles and 220 million U.S. residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, locating friends and relatives, and more!

Ancestry Library Edition

The largest online family history resource available, with access to both domestic and international records. Access is available inside the library only.
Ancestry Library Edition

EBSCOhost
EBSCO Home Access

Ebsco Host

Access FULL-TEXT magazine & journal articles.  

EBSCO also includes:

Auto Repair Reference Center for do-it-yourself auto repair information Auto Repair Home Access

Business Source Premier

Literary Reference Center

Kids Search

Searchasaurus

Student Research Center

NoveList+
Helps you pick books to read. Suggests titles by genre. Best book lists for both fiction and nonfiction.

Auto Repair Reference Center Logo

Literary Reference Center



Novelist Plus

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Find information quickly and in a concise format. Perform a simple keyword search or browse available materials by category. GVRL is a handy ready-reference tool for students, researchers, professionals, and general readers.

Heritage Quest Heritage Quest

Heritage Quest Home Access

Genealogy Research
Valid library card required for
home access.

Kentucky Virtual Library

Kentucky Virtual Library

LearningExpress 

Practice tests, e-books, and skill-building courses for students and adult learners. Includes academic standardized tests (GED, ACT, SAT, GRE, etc.); workplace skills and career exams  (civil service exams, ASVAB, etc.); computer and software tutorials; citizenship preparation courses; and more. Many courses are available in Spanish. You can access at the library or from home with a Bullitt Co. Library card.  

IMPORTANT NOTICE: LearningExpress  has a new platform!

  • If you already created a username and password on the old version (2.0), they are NOT valid in the new version (3.0).
  • Tests in version 2.0 do not transfer into the new version. Access to the old version ends on June 30, 20144
  • Until June 30, you can try to access the old version here.

Mango Languages

Mango LanguagesLearn a language!
Includes Portuguese, Japanese, German, Greek, Chinese, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, ESL (Spanish, Polish, Portuguese).

NewsBank: America's Newspapers

Newsbank Logo

 Home Access Link

Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports, and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate, and other sections. Kentucky news sources include the Pioneer News (9/26/2008–Current), the Lexington Herald-Leader (4/25/1983–Current), and even transcript and video from Channel 32- WLKY (09/11/2009–Current).

OCLC FirstSearch Databases

First Search is a collection of databases that includes access to magazine articles.
World Cat
lists books and materials kept in other libraries around the world. If you are looking for material that is not available in Bullitt County and have a Bullitt County Library card, you may request that an item be "Interlibrary Loaned" using the online request form from World Cat.

To access OCLC from remote locations or from your home use the KY Virtual Library.

Proquest 

To access Proquest from remote locations or from your home use the KY Virtual Library.

Westlaw

We provide an Access Terminal to a portion of the Westlaw database at the Reference Desk in the Ridgway Memorial Library. The database subscription is supplied by the Bullitt County Law Library in the Judicial Building.



Non-subscription/Web-based Databases:

Find Articles

Free database of magazine articles; no access restrictions.


Kentuckiana Digital Library

Search over 550,000 digital images including historic newspapers, photographs, rare Kentuckiana imprints, Sanborn maps, and historic issues of the Daily Racing Form. Historic Kentucky Newspapers Index includes Louisville's Courier Journal (currently 1884-1909), Breckinridge News (1878-1921), Elizabethtown Democrat (1859), several Lexington papers, and others.


MEDLINEplus

From the National Library of Medicine.
Disease database, dictionaries, lists of hospitals and physicians, current news, clinical trials. (No access restrictions)


Public Library of Science

The Public Library of Science (PLoS) 


PubMed

An archive of life science journals.

 

Last Updated 4/16/14